I’m back!

I haven’t wrote anything here for a while. The elephant in the room would say it’s because the last post I wrote was a tribute to my late Grandad and trying to write anything witty or superficial after that seemed somewhat wrong.  Of course thats only one excuse really. I could say that my plans were to write about life at the Friedrichstadt Palast, which sadly I’m not allowed to write about due to reasons I can’t fully understand. I could hint here and there as to what was going on but I think I would somehow get into trouble if I was to really write detailed blogs about working here. Its a shame as well because life at the Friedrichstadt Palast is almost like a TV series, a lot of drama, a fair amount of comedy and a feeling of constant disbelief about what is actually happening before my eyes (not always in a good way…). I fear the true reason why I haven’t wrote anything here is because I turned lazy. I got into a routine of going to work in  the morning, sleeping in the afternoon and then going back to work in the evening. I leave my plates unwashed for days on end, I rarely make my bed and I currently have a fair few sweet wrappers lying around… Ow come on! I’m 23, single and living alone! I’m allowed to be a slob sometimes!

But back to my actual point! I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about what I want to accomplish after my dance career. Don’t get me wrong, I hope to have a long and happy dancer-life but, realistically, it wont go much past 35  and the prospect of being a 35 year old man and at university trying to figure out what to do next is fairly off-putting. So for now (and this may change) my decision is to try and do something with writing and literature. I enjoy writing, I enjoy putting into words what I’m possibly not quick enough to say in real-life. Sometimes I even think in a narrative, with a voice-over commenting on the world around me. I’m not mental. I promise. But it’s that feeling that has told me that I need to do more with my life than just work and sleep. I need to get prepared and make any kind of plan for a future outside of my very shiny, glittery, Lycra filled bubble because it won’t be there forever.

Now I know what you are thinking. Getting into literature is probably just as hard, if not harder, to get into than dance. Everyone wants to be a writer now-a-days so with that in mind I have a plan! I intend to use my dance background as a kind of ‘back door’ into the literary world. Most people can write. Anyone who has watched ‘Sex in the City’ can probably even write well (when they have the voice of Sarah Jessica Parker as their own personal voice-over), but not just anyone can write about dance and entertainment from the perspective of someone who went through the torturous mind-boggle that is ‘Ballet School’ and came out with a job! Anyone can say if a show was entertaining or not but it takes a trained eye to tell you WHY the show was good! Of course, that requires me to go and actually SEE some shows, which is probably easier said than done when you are working in your own show 6 days a week :/

BUT, it is a plan! And a plan with many holes is still better than no plan at all!!

So for now, I will try to blog every now and again even without a show to rip apart (yes I think I will be that type of critic) and if I bore you in the process I’m very, very sorry, its all still a work in progress!

BYE!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Welcome back! Keep on blogging!

Leave a comment